City planners’ new designs include setting up schools, markets and commercial places (like office) in different areas of the city. Do you think it will help the city dwellers?

Local municipalities are expanding the city’s infrastructure in many areas. This will definitely help residents to have more facilities available, create jobs and travel less far from home. These days locals find it easier to conduct their daily business around the area where they live. Furthermore, having a local supermarket close by, will be convenient and much quicker than having to travel to the business centre to pick up a few essentials. For example, roughly 20% of our life is spent travelling to and from shopping centres. It will be far less complicated if you are able to stop at an outlet on your way home from work, without having to take a detour via the commercial hub, just to buy some bread and milk. In addition, adding educational facilities will be beneficial. It will not only create more job opportunities but, it will also ensure access to education for more children. More schools will mean fewer learners in a classroom and as a result, they will get the individual attention they require. What is more, is that parents will be able to work closer to home and commute less to and from work, should more office facilities become available. This will leave them with more free time to spend with their family and friends rather than on the road. For example, the recent expansion of the Cape metro has created 40 000 new jobs and the 6 new junior campuses opened space for 9000 new students to enter their schooling careers. In conclusion, it will certainly benefit the locals if more emporiums, business parks and centres for learning become available in close vicinity of their homes. In particular, because it will ensure more free time and a better quality of life.