Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present era, besides academic grades, practical skills are also crucial as a result of increasing competition in various fields. I believe that youngsters should learn different life-saving functional skills in order to become independent and talented. The significance of non-academic tasks is explained further in this essay. Firstly, some functional tasks like computer programming, repairing machines, bank account management, car driving, swimming, outdoor game playing et cetera, are necessary for personal development. Students can become more alert and active through these activities. Their brains' function could be increased drastically. Although some people find these skills a waste of study time, they eventually help in studies by enhancing focus. Moreover, children can also learn about managing time between studies and other activities. For example, a child playing badminton can stay concentrated on studies for fixed hours. Its mind does not get bored by education and it can use its time more efficiently compared to others. Furthermore, many extra-curricular skills are more useful in future. For instance, my friend learnt to cook during her school time and when she had to move to a foreign country for higher studies, she could easily save her money and time by making food for herself. According to me, if a person who earns money, has not having an appropriate way to invest and manage it cannot become financially independent even after struggling too hard. Additionally, some bookworms in spite of getting higher scores, cannot get selected for job interviews because most companies are demanding better practical skills rather than higher study excellence. Nowadays, most students are achieving excellent grades, hence, to test their competency, companies are more inclined towards functional skills. In conclusion, having practical skills not only boosts our self-esteem and confidence but also provides us with various advanced scopes in our careers. Hence, every child, as well as adult, must know about some activities that others don't to make themselves special to others.