Many people believe that strong tradition helps to civilise a nation and that governments should therefore subsidise musicians, theatre companies, actors and artists. Explain whether you agree or disagree with this statement and what you think governments should do to promote the traditional cultural heritage of a country.

Many countries’ cultures are preserved by the strong tradition inherent in the music, art and theatre of that country. It has been argued that the government should pay to promote the uniqueness of a country ’s culture by subsidising the artists, musicians and actors which keep culture alive. I agree that a government should fund its citizens’ cultural pursuits, since part of a government ’s,responsibility includes the preservation of its people’s own unique cultural traditions. If a government wants to preserve and maintain the art and music which is historically traditional to its country, then it must take steps to ensure that those traditions are valued and fostered. Firstly, a government can help maintain the cultural traditions of a country by using tax money to build theatres, music and concert halls, galleries and museums. By providing venues for artists, musicians and actors to practice, perform and exhibit their arts, the government is helping people come together to participate in traditional creative activities. Furthermore, governments could provide grants, scholarships and education to artists and musicians who are prepared to make special contributions to the preservation of a country ’s traditional music and art. By giving students of art and music incentives to maintain cultural traditions, governments can promote the longevity of their people’s traditions. For example, if a student who was interested in fine arts was offered a full scholarship to explore and paint in traditional styles, that students would be more inclined to follow that option if no scholarship was offered. In conclusion, I believe that governments should provide venues and offer grants and subsidies to artists and musicians of traditional music and art, to maintain the strong the tradition of the country.