online shopping seems to be replacing the traditional method of buying. however some buyers are sceptical to this practice. discuss both benefits and risks associated with online shopping

In recent years technology had enabled us to connect with people, explore new information and reshape our ideas. The term shopping is linked with the transaction of goods and commodities between two parties through monetary compensation, a system, which dates back more than 2000 years old. The boom of the internet started in the early 1990s and enabled lots of web pages to emerge from having lots of useful features, it can be websites for pictures, articles, the index of songs and movies or shopping. The trend of online shopping was already hyped in the mid-1990s but still today much of the Indian population is still sceptical about online shopping. One of the several advantages of this is, firstly items listed on its website are much cheap than the offline alternative, then most of the items which aren't available locally are indexed in this, and, lastly it has easy consumer grievance redressal processes. After talking about positives, some of its disadvantages are - items delivery are usually more than 2-3 business days compared to offline which direct to hand service and there is no guarantee whether items sent are of latest manufactured product or just old stock from its warehouse. In India, online shopping is greatly dominated by duopoly which is Amazon.com and Flipkart which provides same-day delivery service with the best after-sale service. Although the general public is still sceptical regarding purchasing groceries and electronic goods because they are perishable. In conclusion, we can say over the years these online modes of shopping have greatly increased due to better after-sale service, greater indexed items available and an easy consumer grievance redressal process. Meanwhile, these modes are still lacking the better service of perishable items hence a lot of better marketing approaches have to be done to remove scepticism from the public mind.