Team sports are generally promoted as a great way to keep fit and build character. However, sporting events such as soccer matches are often accompanied by violence between rival supporters and other forms of antisocial behaviour. If sporting events cause antisocial behaviour, can team sports really be good for us?

Children are encouraged to participate in sports right from the beginning of their life. But there are often cases of violence noted between the teams in the sports. While it is common to watch rivalry and other issues during the events, it is fair common to look at the benefits sports provide for our body. Firstly, sports are a good form of exercise for students who have a long day of sitting in schools. These kids can use it as a break from their everyday routine and stay fit. For example some youngsters prefer to just participate in sports as a fun activity in the evenings. Secondly, in some countries, governments provide scholarships to young people who have a big win at various levels. This serves as a big chance for the children who have financial problems in the family. For example, I got a chance to study in a university because I had good rank during my soccer in India. To conclude, participation in sports is of really good help to children for their health, even if there are cases of violence and mishappenings; that can be considered less when talked about their benefits.