Some people regard video games are harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others believe that video games are having an adverse effects on the people who play them. Do the drawbacks outweigh the benefits?

We live in a technological world where video games are played by children on a daily basis. While many people say that these are safe and educational, others argue that they can have detrimental consequences on the users. In this essay, I will outline some of the benefits and drawbacks of video games. Gaming has become a common pass time for most children and there are several benefits to it. It has been proven that in many cases this activity seems to boost kids ' creativity. They have fun while playing and therefore show signs of happiness and amusement while at school. As a result, subjects such as arts and music, for example, seem to be the areas where they expand and enhance their creative behaviour. In addition, most of these games are now educationally focused, where their main purpose is to teach new skills to youngsters. Many new games have been developed to teach languages, for instance, in a fun way, which proved beneficial to kids ' further education. However, there have also been many adverse effects of these activities. For instance, there have been times when kids became addicted to online gaming. Such a terrible problem has proven detrimental to their school performance and also contributed to a surge in health issues. This is because children prefer to spend time indoors and to practice no sports or incur in no healthy activities. In conclusion, it is clear to see that the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits of playing video games, these have pushed youngsters to isolate themselves from their peers as they prefer to stick to their phones instead to play with other kids in real life.