Some people think that outdoor activities are more beneficial for children’s development than playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that it is essential for children to get engaged in outdoor activities, rather than wasting their time on video games. I totally agree with this statement and this essay will discuss the reasons. Childhood is the age where juveniles start developing socially, mentally and physically. In order for them to gain social skills such as speaking, listening and self-confidence, children should get involved with the community and interact with other people from different age groups,, however computer games are destructing their personalities and limiting their abilities to be a part of the society since children are spending most of their time in front of the screen. For instance, the rate of social anxiety among the young generation increased by 50% in the past 10 years during the era of evolution. Moreover, children should be encouraged by their parents to practise sports and activities like football, running and swimming which are essential for healthy development. Indeed, practising sports at a younger age increases their awareness about the importance of exercising and later on it becomes part of their daily routine, thus preventing them from obesity and serious health issues. For instance, people with a sedentary lifestyle are more prone to diseases such as diabetes and hypertension compared to those who exercise regularly. To sum up, video games have detrimental effects on children ’s health and development, not only depriving them of being involved in the community but also, leading to health issues. Thus children should be encouraged to practice outdoor activities.