In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, for example, the food and drink industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic containers irrefutably are becoming more and more ubiquitous in our daily lives. However, due to their detrimental environmental impacts, public opinion remains divided over whether or not to penetrate the use of plastic packaging. Despite being a contentious issue, numerous industries including food and beverages are still using plastic items to store their commodities, While this trend has certain benefits, I would contend that they are eclipsed by more significant drawbacks. On the one hand, the upsides of plastic containers are definite. Obviously, they are a cost-effective option for both producers and consumers. In reality, the production of plastic bags and bottles entails the use of only a few low-cost chemicals and consumes negligible amounts of energy. Therefore, product offerings with plastic packaging have become more affordable to customers, particularly lower-income earners. For instance, the substantial majority of food and drinks in supermarkets are being sold in the form of plastic packages and bottles, which has markedly brought down the price of these products and enabled more people to purchase them. Another argument in favour of plastic containers is that they are typically convenient. Consumers’ strong preference for these typically stems from their comparatively lightweight, enormous strength, their friendliness and the fact that they can be reusable. On the other hand, the increasing use of plastic bags and bottles wreaks havoc on the environment. As plastic bags and bottles are generally used once, especially in food and drink businesses, they heavily contribute to the amount of waste of disposed. This is compounded by the fact that the the decomposition process of plastic containers in landfills takes a considerable amount of time, which inevitably leads to soil degradation. in addition, excessive consumption of plastic containers can result in the rapid depletion of natural non-renewable resources such as crude oil which is the raw material for producing plastics, Moreover, plastic waste in the sea can enter the food chain, It is not uncommon to find wild animals inadvertently inhaling or ingesting plastic debris, resulting in countless premature deaths among them. Having people reduce plastic containers can result in the rapid depletion of natural non-renewable resources such as crude oil which is the raw material for producing plastics. Moreover, plastic waste in the sea can enter the food chain. It is not uncommon to find wild animals inadvertently inhaling or ingesting plastic debris, resulting in countless premature deaths among them. Had people reduced plastic usage, millions of wildlife could have been saved In conclusion, although several benefits can be derived from plastic containers, I genuinely believe that they are far outweighed by numerous glaring downsides and it is highly recommended that people consider more sustainable alternatives like biodegradable plastic containers.