The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that women ’s situation has improved dramatically in the majority of societies during the last 50 years, but unfortunately, there are still some countries where the equality of genders leaves much to be desired. I strongly believe that those women who lived in the 1960-1970 would be struck by the great change that has occurred in the world in terms of female rights. Women in the West have made great headway in the fields of educations and employments. Very often women out-achieve men educationally, and are entering occupations and professions that would once have been out of bounds. Successful female entrepreneurs appear in different business magazines on a regular basis. Nowadays it is not surprising to see women in the Parliament, or even in the position of a prime minister or a president. And we must admit that in many cases they are doing very well for their countries. A great example is a German chancellor Angela Merkel, who has made many positive things for her countries, preventing big conflicts and economic crises. However, if we look at the details, we still can observe some inequality in employment, it is not a rare case when men are being paid more for the same amount of work. In addition, women still make the overwhelming majority among secretaries, and suffer from sexual abuse from their bosses. Moreover, women are generally responsible for child caring and housework, so many women actually have two jobs at the same time, one in the office from 9 till 6 and another one is at home. In conclusion, undoubtfully women ’s position has been improved, but still gender equality has not been achieved, yet. So women from all over the world should put their efforts together on it.