Some people think the government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some people who argue that the government should invest more money in teaching science subjects, such as physics, chemistry and biology, for the development and progress of the country. While I agree that science subjects are important nowadays, I disagree with the view that the government should fund more science subjects. On the one hand, science subjects play an important role in helping the development of technology in many countries. By learning science subjects, students can develop abilities in practical scientific experiments, which gives them advantages in choosing the career of engineers or scientists. With more scientific workers entering the industry, the technology of a country could see a higher increase and become more competitive compared to other countries. In addition, advanced technology gives substantial benefits in improving city dwellers' standard of life. Although I agree with the view that science subjects are critical, I believe that the government should invest money in different subjects. Firstly, other subjects can also provide skills that are needed in the knowledge-based economy. For example, history lessons can help students to develop critical thinking skills, as well as art lessons could encourage students ' imagination. These skills are essential for students who want to take psychology or sociology as their career. Without experts in the area of humanity, we would find it difficult to understand ourselves and would be prone to developing severe stress-related diseases. Secondly, if the government invests more money in teaching science subjects, students may be less likely to attend other subjects and may contribute to a labour shortage in other aspects of society, which is negative to the country's economy. In conclusion, even though I agree with the view that science subjects are vital these days, I think the government should not invest more money in science subjects than others. Schools should be encouraged to provide a broad and balanced curriculum.