In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

A lot of people say that graduating from top universities with high GPA will certainly lay a wider road to a decent job afterwards. Doing that doesn't involve rocket science, but it doesn't mean that it's not complicated. Sadly, many high ranking students from renowned universities end up jobless for months or even years after their graduation. In my opinion, there are many factors to this and some of the most prominent ones will be elaborated as follows. First of all, there's always an abundance of graduates from a myriad of majors ready for lines of work at distinct companies. But the problem lies in the capability of the graduate to match with the job's needs, barking up the wrong tree per se. In many cases that I've observed, people tend to apply to wrong jobs or with wrong preparations. For example, an individual who wants to apply for a data analyst puts details on how he completed various projects in accounting. This irrelevance in hardskills causes rejections to said person's application. Another point is that some of these graduates ' mindset is distorted by a range of mental factors. Some people are deterred by their low motivation, allowing themselves to wallow on their past failures instead of learning from them. The others, has too much of a high ego that results to refusing to cut their losses and having the belief that the small paying entry level job is not worth it. These disturbances causes one to stay in a loop that never ends, hence the reason why they are still unemployed until they get it out of their system. Lastly and the factor that has the most effect of unemployment is the lack of softskill soft skills soft-skill development in an individual. Skills like communication, leadership, and project management are essential points that one needs in their endeavours as an employee. Without it, an expert in technicals can't convey their ideas, coordinate their team, and control their projects. Which is why it becomes an important factor in candidate selection. To address this problem there is but one simple solution. Each university needs to make sure that graduates have the necessary knowledge and skills to tackle these three factors. By acknowlegding it, those graduates will be able to develop plans to make themselves a better candidate for any job selection process. This can be done as simply as providing a small guidebook for final year students, or as big as creating a 1 week workshop session to boost their graduates ' understanding of the concerns.