In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

It is hard to deny that the internet is still a new-born technology compared to paper and books which have existed for hundreds of years. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that keeping knowledge on the internet has many drawbacks. However, as far as economy, environment and educational standards are concerned, I strongly hold that we benefit more from information that is put on the internet. First and foremost, storing knowledge on the internet could increase public educational standards as information can be spread more easily over the internet. To be more specific, you can store as much as information you want on the internet and all of it can be checked on any electronic device as long as it is accessible to the internet, there is no constraint on location or time. While the more knowledge is contained in a book, the thicker and heavier it will be. And people can only access the knowledge in that book if they buy or borrow it. Thus, it would be much more convenient to share and spread knowledge through the internet as people are more willing to store and access information on the internet. Furthermore, the fact that keeping information on the internet does not require the use of paper indicates that it is very eco-friendly. Take the case of my friend as an example, who shifted the way of studying last year. Starting from then, he made all his notes on a laptop and read electronic books instead of real books. As a result, his personal consumption of paper has declined by over 95%. Therefore, storing knowledge on the internet enables people to reduce their usage of paper, which could save large amounts of water in paper production as well as prevent deforestation to some extent. However, a voice arises that storing information on the internet prevents poor people from accessing knowledge as they might find it hard to afford electronic devices. This viewpoint ignores the reality that smart phones have already become a necessity in our every life. People who is not able to buy these devices would also face difficulties in purchasing books or other forms of learning. Besides, once people have their own devices, they can attain all of knowledges in the internet, which saves large amounts of money to buy books every year. Therefore, accessing knowledge through internet could in fact be a more economical option. In conclusion, I believe the whole society could be influenced by the online conservation of knowledge in a positive way.