Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Recently, some individuals believe that traditions are a thing of the past and it has to be sidelined, and allow innovation to progress since it is about the future. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly disagree with the idea of culture being a thing of the past in order for innovation to take over. Culture is the form of life of nation and it is imbibed in individuals. There are some custom that help to shape people in the future and the way they see their elders. For instance, in Nigeria, the Yoruba people believe that when an adult is seen, whether in public or private, you must greet them properly. Therefore, just saying 'hi' to elders is not acceptable and can be seen as being rude to them. Culture helps to teach the youths about respect and greetings. If this is let go, then the unborn generations will never know the proper way of greeting people, and also the use of showing respect. Additionally, citizens learn about their local dishes and meals through tradition. People are taught and tutored on the idea behind these meals and their origin. These foods are most dated to the 19th century. If practice is scrapped, how will population know about them or learn how to prepare it? Our custom show where we are from, that is, our origin. One's food that can a stranger where they are from. And also, this applies to our dressing. Our outfits say a lot about our heritage and culture. For example, when one is seen wearing a printed Ankara fabric, without being told, you can guess they are from Nigeria. In such, a situation where everyone in a room wears a pair of trousers and blouses, with sneakers, you cannot differentiate what nations each individual represents. belief speak a lot about an individual and can make them outstanding globally. In conclusion, I believe that culture and innovation are necessary without side-lining any of them. Both are necessary, but tradition tells a lot about people's form of dressing, food, life etc.