Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People are considering the movement of arts subjects in university because of the rising cost and fiercely competitive job market.Personally,I completely agree with this suggestion and believe that graduates are more likely to get a decent job if only practical degree courses are given. There are several reasons why arts subjects should be abandoned. Firstly,it is relatively expensive to have arts programmes than those practical degree courses,which would unquestionably post a financial burden on ordinary families. Secondly,these programmes do not benefit most graduates in a realistic way,especially when facing the problem of joblessness these days. Finally,it would also have a negative impact on their practical degree courses,they are probably not going to get a degree if they did not have a good academic performance. For example,those future employers really towant hire people who actually can make a profit,which is based on their practical skills taken in the university. I believe that the time spent on those relevant arts subjects should be reallocated to practical degree courses instead.It is much cheaper to totally focus on the main degree courses,so undergraduates normally can have better academic achievement if unnecessary money costs. That is because they are given much more time and under no pressure, therefore they are able to concentrate better on their practical subjects,and they are much more competitive than other graduates in the competitive job markets.If all the universities only provide those practical degree courses,many thousands of graduates could be guaranteed a decent job. In conclusion,my view is that our officials should be isolated to offer practical degree courses that benefits almost all the graduates and their families,it is wrong to waste money on having those atrs subjects that do not contribute to employment.