Some educationalist argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a section which is in favour of introducing arts-based subjects in the school curriculum, as it can help in the overall development of students. Although there can be different views about the same, I am in favour of this new curriculum introduction. We will discuss this further in my essay. On one hand, we have seen the same pattern of education being followed in our schools for a very long time and which has been great, in building the base of their future. However, with different times there is a need for change in our way of learning. As we have seen west was focused on practical learning from the beginning and we were more inclined towards theoretical knowledge which in turn was not that beneficiary for our kids. For instance, if we see the students studying abroad, they might not have that great knowledge about the facts on a particular thing but they will have the practical knowledge. Moreover, the education system there always encourages them to first experiment and then learn. So, In my,opinion if we introduce art-based, this will help the younger generation On the other hand, if the students will practice and learn these new subjects, it will help them to deviate their minds from the monotonous way of learning. In addition, they will find their peace while learning these new things and as well as, may develop new hobbies. For example, it has been stated in a study that a person with a hobby is more likely to succeed in life rather than one who doesn't have any. To sum up this discussion, in my view, the new pattern should be welcomed by our education system, even though it will not be easy in the beginning, things will change for a better future for our children. Therefore, we will have a happy and successful generation, leading our nation towards a bright future.