Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent decades have witnessed a staggering number of students who graduated from universities find difficulties in seeking a job related to their profession. Undoubtedly, there are various reasons behind the scenario. In this essay, I will explain the reasons as well as the solutions in order to combat this issue. First and all, numerous graduates are not fond of their chosen subjects. Often enough, enrolling in universities requires plenty of criteria, including academic results and achievements in extra-curricular activities. In this sense, countless students select a profession that can fit their marks, instead of showing strong interest in that particular aspect. For instance, my high school friend chose Professional Accounting as her degree major, despite the fact that she was never interested in accounting and auditing at all. Since there were fewer entry requirements for students, my friend made her decision on having an accounting degree. Secondly, an interesting subject does not imply an auspicious career path. For instance, the University of Hong Kong conducted a survey amongst high school students about the subjects they would be pleased to engage. The findings illustrated that the students loved Chinese History, Home Economics and Art which enhanced their sense of achievement. It is widely acknowledged that job positions in relation to these professions are declining. As a result, graduates are facing an unprecedented challenge to find relevant job openings. In order to resolve the mentioned problems, parents ought to explain to their offspring about the career development of each profession. In essence, parents' guidance plays a pivotal role in influencing the decision-making of the students. Additionally, schools are encouraged to offer more internship opportunities for their students to gain real-life working experience. Unsurprisingly, students who participated in internships tend to have a better insight into their future careers, and this could test whether the young ones are suitable for certain careers. To summarise, young adults often make incorrect decisions about their career paths due to lacking experience or guidance. If society desire to alleviate this situation, cooperation between parents and schools is of utmost importance.