Some people say that history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People have different views regarding the importance of humanities subjects like history and science subjects like technology. While science and technology are emerging as distinct fields, I believe that history will always be an important subject. On the one hand, recent discoveries in the field of computer science have made it the most sought-after career prospect. Every aspect of our life is filled with machines and technologies, from cell phones to household gadgets. In the last decade the job opportunities for software engineers have increased at a drastic rate which has led to parents believing in the importance of this subject. For example, people in my country are pushing secondary students to learn programming because they think that this field will continue to prosper even in the future. On the other hand, history will always occupy a central role in the lives of the people. Understanding world history helps us to connect with humans at a personal level, this also helps us to learn about various cultures and civilizations. For instance, the study of the civilization of Harappa tells us about the living condition of our ancestors 5000 years ago. History also tells us about the mistakes our predecessors made which led to the downfall and destruction of many cities. For example, learning about the destructive effect of the nuclear bomb in Japan has made us wary of using explosive technology. Therefore, it can be argued that history not only tells us about the past but it can impact the future too. In conclusion, I can understand why some people deem technological studies important, but I think history will always occupy a main role in the life of the general population.