Students in a school should learn academic subjects and pass exams. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork can be learned from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that schools should be responsible to teach academic curriculums only whereas, other extra-curricular skills such as cooking, stitching, and mechanical work should be taught by family and friends. This essay does not agree with the above-mentioned statement. Students should learn and practice their co-curricular activities from school as it provides a platform to learn from professionals. Experts of particular skills would teach the student basic to advance levels of tactics and strategy, in a suitable environment with a proper objective to learn. However, this would be difficult to learn from family and friends as there is a variety of skills and it is not important that they would know the advanced practice of every skill. For instance, educational institutes which provide cooking classes to their learner, have shown interest to pursue their careers as chefs. This shows that when the skills are taught by the experts in a proper platform and environment, it creates impactful results. On the other hand, most of the parents and family members are working, which leads to minimal involvement of learners with their families. To be more clear, most of the parents get home after office timings and this make gives them minimum time to interact with their children. During this time it is important for the families to bond and communicate, rather than having a strict teaching-learning time for the skills. For instance, research have shown that children, who are forced to keep themselves involved in different learning skills throughout the day, end up compromised communication. In conclusion, there is no other perfect place to teach the students different skills, as the school provides a proper platform with expertise, and most of the family members are working, who can not commit to teaching skills to their kids. It is recommended that government should impose a policy for all the schools to start their skill teaching classes as a mandatory subject.