Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, cars act as a neccessary part of our life as each family owned at least one. This leads to a heavy traffic jam all around the world, and these can be reduce by government start to take action. There are many ways that government can helped in reduced the times of using cars. Firstly, they can increase the prices of diesel and electricity power. The huge paid for the petrol and electricity will forced them use the cars wisely. For example, the short journey can be changes to ride a bike or just walk on your own. Secondly, they can introduce a more useful public transport system for people daily basis. The bus or train comes on time and systematically will bring more confindence to the users. This will show a great decline in the uses of car if the program is running successfully. Finally, the tax for buying cars should be increased as this is the most and direct way can reduce the car ownership. People who cannot afford the taxes should try another ways like public transport for the transportation. It is true that the roads now have always crowded by cars. A very good example shows on me that usually journey from Parit Raja to Johor Bahru take 90 minutes, now become at least 120 minutes, especially on holidays. Many family have more than one car now, as we can observe by the car parking outside their house. This results in a bad situation as the number of car gradually increases. In conclusion, the number of owning cars can be controlled by the government if they really focus on the problem and do the action.