Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

For any country, government actions are the most important for its citizens. It is argued that government should not spend its budget on arts rather it should be put to good use for its people. I believe that governments should actively invest money in their people well being but they should not ignore the art industry altogether. Having the essential services that a normal citizen can enjoy should be the top priority for any government Organization. If the Country is providing its people best living conditions and public services, more people will want to immigrate to such a place. This can bring wealth and prosperity to its people, thus more government collection can be achieved. Moreover, it is a cycle between government offering to their citizens and people helping them in return via taxes. However, they should not ignore focusing on people that are interested in arts. As with any other industry, many people are involved and interested in music and theatre. If those people are not encouraged enough, there will be a shortage of talents. This may lead to demotivating the upcoming talented people in the field. In,general this might create a biased environment, where the government is only focused on areas where they generate the highest tax and not actively putting money which can help and grow the art industry. To conclude, although government should spend its budget on services for the general population, I believe that, it is as crucial to pour money into versatile talents such as the arts. The government should introduce a balanced budget where it is helping the people fulfil their needs as well as their interest in new talents.