The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these energy sources in remote and untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating oil and gas in these areas outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these places?

Some people argue that as the population on the Earth is increasing, we need to explore new oil and gas resources due to losing current sources of natural energy. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this assertion outweigh the advantages. There are various reasons why the drawbacks of locating new natural sources of energy outweigh the benefits. To begin with, searching for untouched places to find fossil fuels like oil and gas will result in destroying the natural habitat of that area. For example, in southern Africa, the most famous rainforest has been demolished in the last decade to find new sources of oil. This has led to the extinction of wild animals and plants. instead of ruining natural habitats, we should protect them. In addition, if people use more oil and gas, more carbon dioxide will release. Thus, Co2 will trap heat from the sun and this makes the global temperature rise. This process is called the greenhouse effect. Gas emissions from vehicles and exhaust fumes from factories are the major factors of environmental pollution. moreover, Cheap air travelling and the growing number of cars on the streets have a significant impact on global warming and contamination of the planet. In conclusion, many developing countries are becoming industrialized and the need for new sources of fossil fuels is increasing. While it may be argued that humans have the right to destroy untouched fields to access new sources of natural energy, I believe that the disadvantages far outweigh the benefits.