There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being thought that students are under the pressure achieving academical success, so some people believe that non-academic classes should be excluded from a curriculum in order to boost productivity. Personally, I completely disagree with the statement that universities should drop classes on life-related topics such as cookery or personal budgeting because education must be broader and applicable as possible. On the one hand, an university program should give a variety of subjects for students focused on applying an actual result of study to the real life. It is crucial that a person learn to be prepared for the real world edge-cases which theory tends not to cover. For instance, it is complicated to imagine how to use management skills when you have never managed anyone before, but if you were enrolled in a sports activity forced by the curriculum where you had to lead a team, you would definitely have got a chance to practice theoretical skills in the wild to succeed in life. On the other hand, students have a tough schedule already, so introducing new minor subjects focused on non-academical development could affect their productivity which inevitably will lead to the poor performance. This is an essential point, so educational institutions might introduce options to opt-in or opt-out minors that are considered to be useless for each person individually. Although it is a straightforward solution, a lot of organizations omit this policy. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that everyone should have their own ability to select education that they find important. That being said, I recommend changing policies of educational institutions allowing students to tweak the curriculum.