Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is believed by many that universities should teach their pupils as per their choice. Others, on the contrary, think that courses that can be utilized properly in the future, like science and technology, must be the only options for these students. In my opinion, I agree that individuals must have their own say over their careers. Additionally, I would like to argue that having freedom of choice in student life is cardinal for innovation and creativity in the following respective job sectors. This essay contains some arguments championing such opinions. First of all, the job market is ever-changing. Therefore, lucrative jobs from this decade can come out saturated and obsolete in the next one. For instance, with the rapid boom in the discipline of mechanical engineering, the world expected a sky-rocket demand for mechanical engineering graduates in related fields such as industries, automobile, aviation, and powerplants etc., and was superseded, albeit very quickly, by information technology and computer science jobs at the beginning of the current century. On the other hand, having the freedom of choosing doctrine in university life is crucial. Studies showed that pursuing a career of someone’s own passion may increase the possibilities of success in this competitive world. Additionally, it increases job satisfaction hence enhancing creativity and innovation. For example, a satisfied employee at any post is an important asset for the respective company because of the high potential of such individuals towards success. In conclusion, the arguments aforementioned give a proper framework to legitimate my claim regarding students must have the opportunity to select and enjoy their own cherished careers in order to compete in the current world of globalization.