These days, many young people are not spending their weekends and holidays doing outdoor activities such as hiking or mountaineering. Why is that? How can they be encouraged to spend more time in the natural environment?

Nowadays, the lifestyle of young people has changed. Hence, they prefer staying at home rather than doing some outdoor activities. This has some reasons and solutions that this essay will mention them. To begin with, because of obvious reasons usually younger are reluctant for going out and doing some activities, such as hiking, and cycling. Firstly, young individuals are surrounded by interesting indoor hobbies like video games. Therefore, these hobbies absorb their attention and make them spend their free time during holidays on video games. For example, my brother is a civil engineer and works for a construction company that goes work all week, also, he likes computer games, and he never goes out for any type of practice at the weekend, just stays at home and plays. Moreover, young people probably do not have enough information about the drawbacks and hazards of staying home and not doing physical practice. Consequently, the shortage of enough knowledge and some interesting indoor hobbies prevent younger to go out and doing some body exercises. On the other hand, scientists recommend different helpful ways to encourage young people to do some physical activities. They say the government has an irrefutable role in this issue. In other words, they should invest in educating young people, telling them about the benefits of exercising and going to nature, and convincing them. Secondly, the prize could have a positive effect on encouraging but prizes should be allocated for more individuals rather than only three first ranks. For a clear example, last year, a forest campaign in Tehran invented young people to participate in a walking tour in North Jungle and gave a prize to anyone who participated. As a result, every weekend a huge number of younger take part in this tour. In conclusion, some new interesting hobbies and a lack of knowledge in terms of physical activities in fresh air prevent younger to do necessary outdoor hobbies. In contrast, education and good prizes could encourage them to do outdoor exercises.