Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Have modern advancements brought more benefits than drawbacks to the public? It is a widely debated topic among people that relying too much on technology in this day and age for many different tasks is posing a high risk. I strongly disagree with this statement for the reasons outlined below. Firstly, the storage of multimedia information has become a lot easier due to the developments in devices. Large amounts of data can be stored in servers which have to otherwise be remembered by the staff of a certain organisation. This further leads to fewer errors being made for avoiding many dangerous situations. For example, studies have proven that the storage of patient records in a Patient Registration System (PRS) reduces up to approximately 48% of errors being made. Hence, risky occurrences such as patient switch-ups could be easily prevented by putting up such a system. Moreover, the introduction of technology has allowed the general public to access many services from the palm of their hands, also known as their smartphones. From accessing information to booking a taxi, a range of tasks can be carried out with just a few clicks. This has prevented countless difficult situations for people. For instance, in 2018, a veteran suffered a heart attack and a passerby was able to perform CPR successfully due to the app he had downloaded called "Pocket first -aid". Thus, smartphones can even help save lives indirectly. In conclusion, it is extremely vital that advancements are made to devices and it's important that they continue to improve, even in the future. The easy access and storage of mass data elicit the fact that computers are a vital factor in human lives.