These days, people work in more than one job , and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and diadvantages of this ?

In recent times, technological advancements across the globe have increased significantly; thereby leading to a plethora of job opportunities. Nowadays, it is often observed that people tend to change their career paths very often and work for multiple jobs simultaneously. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of this trend in subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, exploring various job opportunities has two major advantages. One of them is higher salaries; when individuals switch jobs, there are higher chances of getting very competitive salary packages. For instance, employees in many South Asian countries keep changing their jobs frequently to improve their financial status and lead a better life. Furthermore, many people work for multiple jobs simultaneously. This approach improves the multi-tasking capabilities of people and also enhances their skill set. To cite an example, when people are engaged in more than one job, they can explore new technologies and become ready for the competitive job market. Even though this trend is advantageous, there are a few downsides associated with it. One of them is trust issues with employers. If a majority of individuals start doing multiple jobs and changing their career paths quite often, then the companies will start losing trust in their employees. As a result, organizations will be reluctant in hiring new people and this will lead to lower employment rates. Another demerit of this approach is the insufficient skill set of the employees. When people try to move between companies, they can hardly focus on one specific technology. Because of this, many individuals lack expertise in their respective domains, even after having a good amount of work experience. To conclude, working for many organizations and changing jobs frequently can improve the financial status of an individual and help in exploring new technologies. However, this trend can create mistrust among employers and can result in low employment rates.