Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that tourists in foreign countries should observe local customs and behavior. Some others dissent and say that the destination countries should embrace distinct cultures. The visitors should be free in acting behavior but must respect local culture and not act in the opposite way. Observing the local customs and behavior of destination countries by visitors is considered as esteem to local people. The residents of every country have special manners and lifestyles in their culture, and some behaviors are restricted in their community. Therefore, tourists should follow their customs and behavior to respect them as guests. For instance, drinking alcohol is banned in Islamic countries and if tourists want to drink it there, their act will be disrespectful behavior to the host country. In addition, to entrance homes with shoes is indecent behavior in some nations, hence to enter their homes should take shoes off even though this custom does not exist in the visitors ’ life. On the other hand, there are some people who have exactly the opposite opinion which is tourists should not follow the local culture, because tourists have their own culture, and they should not feel pressure in their travel to change their attitude which can be made an unsatisfying journey to them. Some others contend that the host state should accept distinctive cultures. This attitude toward visitors conveys the message that this country is flexible to different people and respects their culture. So, more people will entice to visit the country. In conclusion, in my opinion, tourists behavior should not be in sharp contrast to local people, and the destination country must give the right to its visitors to observe the culture they have to feel comfortable with being in another country. However, following local customs is a polite manner for visitors. On the contrary, opening the door of the country to people with various customs can absorb more tourists.