Popular hobbies and interest change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Over the years we have seen many shifts in hobbies and interests. Many argue that such a shift Occurs due to changes in fashions and trends.Others disagree as they believe it's because of what people want to spend their hours on. In my opinion, individuals move with what is popular than what they want to actually do. This essay will discuss the argument in the below paragraphs. To begin with, people nowadays are connected more than ever before due to the technological advancement of the internet, which has easier for the public to be aware of the latest trends.Delving Deeper, which means an individual's interest can get influenced easily by what is popular on social media.For instance, a recent survey done by Vice news shows that 80% of the youth population are interested in doing their own Startups because of the current increase in the popularity of startup culture. In addition, many youngsters spend their leisure time nowadays, following popular fashion, which is followed by their favourite influencers. Furthermore, the mob mentality has somewhat suppressed the individuality of a person. Due to this many do not even able to recognise what they really wanted to do in the first place and end up doing something else. For example, one of my friends would spend his spare time going gym,which recently become a style of fashion because of this he is left with less time, which really wants to spend learning the art. In conclusion, it seems that with the influence of trends and fashions online, has somewhat affected the individual's decision of how he/she actually wanna utilise his/her free time.