The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this ? What can be done to solve this problem?

The significant growth of consumer products manufacturing has led to more detrimental effects on the natural environment. I believe that there are several root causes and solutions to address this issue will be proposed. To begin with, the consumerism culture of today’s society has caused more harm to wildlife habitats for two main reasons, including the industrial emission from the production process and packaging waste from the goods disposal. Wastes and pollutants discharged from the manufacturing process are unavoidable by-products. In fact, factory machines are generally powered by fossil fuels, for this reason, carbon-dioxide will be released which might severely pollute the surrounding air. Furthermore, product packaging assembled from plastic and paper needs a longer time to degrade naturally. As a result, it could end up contaminating the oceans, rivers, lakes, and what is even more dangerous is the fact that it could seriously endanger the inhabitants when the waste is accidentally swallowed. Several actions should be prompted in order to mitigate the problem. Firstly, the government should take a bold move to impose a stricter law on sustainable manufacturing process and waste-management. To do so, the government can regulate the use of renewable energies to replace fossil fuels as well as encourage the utilization of low-energy-consumption machines. Secondly, to reduce unnecessary waste from product packaging, the consumer goods companies need to use an eco-friendly material which is considerably more compostable, for example, packaging made from plant-based resources such as corn and wheat straw. To sum up, waste caused by the production of consumer goods is unavoidable, therefore comprehensive actions from the government and companies are needed to alleviate the problems immediately in order to conserve and protect the natural environment.