As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays people benefit from using online translation platforms to communicate with foreigners. Although visitors become capable to meet their needs on trips, it has been proven that some misunderstandings remained. I agree with the statement to some extent. Learning a language assists people to understand other cultures and make closer relationships with locals. For more explanation, being able to talk a similar language with the host countries’ citizen provide us with an opportunity to be aware of historical stories and communicate easily. In addition, it is undeniable that the internet is not accessible for using translators’ applications everywhere, so being good command of an international language would be more reliable. For example, on my last trip to Turkey, I decided to learn quite a bit about the Turkish language and this action gave me the confidence to get to know exotic people, learn about them, and find new friends. Then, learning a language is an effective way to increase our general information about the world and it helps us to make a bigger circle of friends. Online translation platforms get individuals a chance to travel all around the world without knowing all countries’ mother languages. People have to take a long time to master a foreign language and it seems out of human capacity to learn many languages, whereas this kind of application simplifies this process for them. In addition, most computers are programmed to translate whatever we want immediately without mistakes. For instance, tourists should apply an instant translation system when they want to visit countries such as China, Japan, or France. So, these high-tech platforms have their advantages and make traveling easier for passengers. To conclude, learning language skills allows for closer contact with people from other nations with different cultures, while it seems translators are proper just to satisfy our needs.