Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that the large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The opinion on large multinational corporations is generally divided. Some people believe that they create value for their respective countries while others think they do more harm than good. In my opinion, large companies benefit economies by bringing jobs and investment into an area and by using local natural resources resulting in a positive domino effect. conversely, conglomerates can cause huge damage to local environments and can also take advantage of cheaper child labour, thus not benefiting developing regions. I think that businesses such as Apple bring great value to developing areas. For example, Apple is shifting its current iPhone production to India, resulting in the creation of a large number of jobs in the country. Furthermore, these jobs are way above minimum wage and thus provide great income for the workforce, and a higher tax income for the governments. In addition, Apple is likely to source key resources such as lithium and other precious metals from local distributors, further compounding the positive benefits. Therefore, creating a healthier and stronger economy. On the flip side, manufacturers such as Nike, Adidas, and Puma use child labour in Pakistan and neighbouring places. The result is children are unable to continue their primary education and thus don't have a chance at a better future. Furthermore, cheap work comes with many safety risks, due to the unsafe environment, and a large number of incidents have occurred resulting in the loss of many young lives. In combination, the chemical industry has used said cheap workers for many years, and has dumped their toxic chemical waste into the local waterways. Resulting in a massive ecological loss. For these reasons, not all international investment is good for the economy. In conclusion, the majority of multinational corporations bring a benefit to developing countries by providing work and demand for local resources. Some, however, take advantage of cheap labour and lax laws and harm the country they are in.