You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is considered unlawful in some nations for employers to deny job seekers employment simply because of their age. However,  from my point of view, it is a step in the wrong direction as we shall see. First and foremost, some jobs are known to require physical strength as well as emotional wellness which is already lacking in elderly people due to degenerative processes. For instance,  lifting bricks to the building site would rather be done better by a youth who is still full of strength. Additionally,  there is the perception of disrespect by elderly persons. The employers find it difficult to give them instructions looking at their age thus making them not useful in the organisation compared to their young counterparts. Furthermore, employment should be done in a professional way taking into cognisance the national law regarding it. For example,  in Nigeria,  the stipulated age for retirement is sixty-five years and as such, no firm is expected to recruit anyone above that age. This will not only exhaust this individual but place detrimental effects on their health. They will then have to double their efforts to meet up with what is required of them, leading to health issues later in life. In conclusion, I am convinced that prohibiting the recruiting firms from the stringent application of age is a negative development. This will lead to having employees who would not be fit for the job. It will also mean going against the law of the country.