The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is not a secret that smartphones have become extremely popular these days, and users spend a lot of time on screens. Besides, contemporary cell phones provide quite a few extra options as opposed to those that people used to have in the past. From my perspective, there are both pros and cons to using these modern devices which will be examined in the essay. To begin with, cell phones have become more than just a tool for making calls because they give us the opportunity to make important affairs online. Certainly, there are many benefits to having an Android or an iPhone. For example, from my experience, it has become possible to search for a job using such an application as Head Hunters or attend meetings online via Skype or Zoom. On top of that, modern mobile phones were extremely helpful when the pandemic hit in 2020. Furthermore, the devices enabled students and workers not to stop studying and working and hence the technology contributed to the economy because businesses and educational institutions continued functioning. Therefore, cell phones have helped users to make their lives simpler and more convenient. However, smartphones also have certain drawbacks. First of all, cell phones have become increasingly common, and so have social media. It can be seen that this activity is time-consuming let alone it might be addictive for some users. For instance, statistics show that an average person wastes approximately 3 hours on Instagram, Facebook and so instead of dedicating this time to work, studying or family. Therefore, smartphones might be thieves of time or even lead to addiction or depression. In conclusion, even though cell phones have quite a few pros and play a crucial role in the modern world they still have some disadvantageous and may cause harm to children and adults.