Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good, while others think face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some say making acquaintances online is a better way of making friends while others believe that in-person communication is important. While meeting new people via social media platforms is a convenient option because we can connect with others irrespective of the place and time, however, I believe that face-to-face conversation is better because it helps us to understand more about the person. On the one hand, humans are making friends at the click of a button on online websites and apps such as Facebook, Instagram, etc. This helps us to connect with other people from different cultures, places, and countries. For example, Mark Zuckerberg created Facebook based on the idea that anyone can make friends from any part of the world. However, I believe that one cannot have a real connection until one meets in reality. On the other hand, an in-person meeting is very significant in today's world. There are so many fake profiles out there online which cannot be differentiated virtually. This is also known as catfishing. For example, In India, there were cases where cyber criminals used to connect with the public via Instagram and gained their trust. Post that, they extracted their personal details such as mobile numbers and bank information and finally stole their money. I believe that this method is preferable as the real conversation takes place through this and there are fewer chances of fraud. In conclusion, although making an online companion and connecting with them is a good thing, it does not mean that the other is a genuine person to be a friend.