Many manufactured food and drinks products contain a high level of sugar, causing health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present age, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue whether sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. I tend to believe that this statement is quite incorrect and in this essay, I will explain why. First and most importantly, when it comes to an individual's habits, in this case consuming sugary products, a human sticks to what he feels the most comfortable doing and no obstacles can put a stop to it. Scientific researches have shown that from the beginning of a humankind existence humans tended to do whatever they are capable of to please their needs. For instance, in the age of stone people would risk their lives for a roof above their head as it was their instinctive need. And nowadays, a long-lasting habit turns into a human’s need that always requests renewal. Consequently, a higher price on the product a person constantly consumes would not be a barrier. The second point worth mentioning is that by removing one specific source of unhealthy pleasure a person will find the other. A human’s stamina is quite fragile concerning instincts. To be more exact, if an individual would have to desist from a particular weakness, a human being most certainly will find the other one, since harmful habits are more sticky than the healthy ones. For example, a person who recently stopped smoking is more prone to start consuming unhealthy food. It is like a nicotine addiction, because a tolerance to the product is developed requesting more and more. On the basis of the above discussion, I believe that making sugary products more expensive would not make a big difference in an individual's attitude, since people tend to stick with their harmful habits.