Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays students do not have to go to school, because distance learning from the Internet is quite normal and can be provided by universities and colleges. From my perspective, the merits of the development outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, it is beneficial for students to study from home. Students of distance learning are able to feel freer. After class, they can arrange their own schedule, which they want to do rather than under the supervision of tutors. In addition, Distance learning are more likely to encourage students to study on their own pace. For instance, there is plenty of information that they can search for or teachers’ video that they can be watched again in the Internet, when they are confused in studying. In the contrary, admission would not take a class about the same content again. Furthermore, students who study from home can save money and time on transport. They can take advantage of time on transport to do some sports or trivial things to improve their efficiencies. Besides, students, especially international students, can study at universities or colleges that are located in other parts of the world during the pandemic. On the other hand, Spending too much time in terms of distance learning is not likely to help students to develop good learning habits. They may be easily distracted from studying without any supervision. In conclusion, it is convenient for students to study from home because of the widespread use of the Internet. However, students ’ feelings are crucial as well. Perhaps they feel isolated due to long-term distance learning.