Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced number of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Due to technological advances, humans have opted for various alternatives to stay in touch with their family and friends. Nowadays, many people prefer to have conversations through communication channels such as email and messengers rather than meeting up and this has led to various problems in community life. I would disagree with the notion completely and state my opinion in the following paragraphs. Advances in automation is incredible which people in the past never dreamt of. There are various advantages associated with this. Firstly, the ease that communication have brought, has helped people in saving their time, humans can communicate from the comfort of their homes, and they can also perform various things at the same time. On the other hand, traffic congestion, air pollution and noise pollution can be reduced because less frequently people meet their friends Furthermore, it has enabled to continue friendships among people who live across the world. Nevertheless, it is also true that changes in communication channels have led to various disadvantages. To begin with, the relationships that existed in the past were pure and caring, they also involved better understanding, whereas now, there is less understanding, bonding and care between friends. Secondly, it has also impacted human's healthy routine, people often stepped out of their homes in order to meet their friends but nowadays, due to the ease of communication, people rarely go out and this has resulted in various health issues such as obesity, heart problems and blood pressure. Moreover, it has also made humans lazy. In my opinion, the advantages of using these media outweigh the disadvantages. People should understand how to make well use of these communication media. Friends who live across the neighbourhood should meet face to face, it also keeps them healthy, but if a friend resides too far then it is better to email or message them, so this way, we can reduce traffic and other pollution. To conclude, I would argue that, proper education should be implemented on how to use various technologies and when to limit them in order to tackle these issues.