Air travel causes environmental pollution, so many people believe that there should be an increase in the price of air tickets in order to reduce air traffic. Do you agree or disagree?

Environmental degradation is taking place owing to pollution. Some proportion of masses assert that, air travel is attributing to atmospheric pollution so, in order to overcome with this issue the price of air tickets should be soared which will result in limiting air traffic. I strongly disagree with this statement and my view points will be discussed in subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, most of the people use airline for travelling internationally not for commting commenting within the country. If the price of air ticket increases it will further become costly for people. To clarify it, if an individual is travelling to abroad for any meeting for commercial purpose it is obvious that the person can not go via roadways or railways so the individual must have to travel by aeroplane only and if the cost of air ticket went up the individual could bear loss. Moreover, by commuting through aeroplane people can reach on time on their desired place. To examplify, it takes only an hour to travel from Delhi to Mumbai via airlines on the other hand, travelling with trains it could take two days to reach at the destiny. Thus, the cost of air tickets should not be inclined as it benefits a lot to people by saving their time and reaching at their desired location without much expenditure. Argumenting further,aeroplanes are the not only one source of pollution wich is causing deterioration of environment. there some other major sources as well so, why to blame air travel only for adverse implications? There are other means of transport also which proliferates air pollutants and indeed people are opting them much over air travel. An article published in New York Times stated that, pollution at their country with buses is 43% whereas, through airline is 20%, that is twice less than pollution caused by buses. Hence, the cost of air tickets should not be increased. To recapitulate, people prefer aeroplanes only for voyaging overseas, not for domestic purpose which do not expel much pollution. Infact, air travel saves the time of people by making them reach timely and comfortably so, from my perspective price of air tickets should not be increased because there are other sources of air pollution also and increasing the price of ticket of aeroplane only does not make sense.