Write about the following topic: The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays it is incontrovertible that a higher number of children have been suffering from obesity. This detrimental rise is largely a result of either an unhealthy way of eating or a diminished amount of sports, whereas the effects are a reduced self-esteem and less ability to socialize with their peers. This essay will delve into the causes and the effects and reach a logical conclusion at the end. On the one hand, children are more likely to consume unhealthy foods, such as junk foods full of unsaturated fats, while incorporating fewer fruits and vegetables. As a result, their diet is less enriched with all the macro-nutrients and vitamins they need to maintain a healthy body. Furthermore, in recent years, the amount of movement done by young adults has diminished in a significant way. For instance, recent research suggests that in the U.S., a percentage of children aged between twelve to fourteen are doing 20 minutes of daily exercise, compared to 40 minutes a decade ago. On the other hand, youngsters are more exposed to develop mental issues due to their weight. Admittedly, the major effects are either a significantly reduced self-esteem or a less developed ability to socialize with people of their age. Thus, they could be more exposed to bullying episodes in schools or universities due to their different body shape. Moreover, their personality might have deteriorated of the examples the society is showing off every day on the TV or social media. For instance, a recent survey in the psychology sector has found that more children and adolescents are being influenced by people they follow on their Instagram or TikTok. In conclusion, obesity among children represents a major issue in the modern society, caused by a non-proper diet and less exercise. Consequently, the main results are the highly diminished self-esteem and the more exposure to damaging episodes from their peers.