The consumption of world’s resources is increasing dangerous rate. What are the causes and solutions?

There are more and more researches and articles providing proof that our Planet's resources are being abused and overused; which certainly should raise a concern about its dangers. In the essay I would like to mention one of the causes, such as the consumeristic mentality being promoted in the media and possible solutions in form of education and awareness campaigns. The principal cause associated with this increase is influenced by the promotion of different and mostly wrong ideologies among people through media, such as the popularization of consumer mentality. That is to say, television, the internet and all other sources of information impose the idea that we need to buy more, we need to use more products; which only benefits the sellers and producers of those products. However, behind the certains the Planet's precious resources are being exhausted and overused at very frightening rates. Which in its turn could result in all sorts of issues in terms of environment and nature. For example, there was fresh research published by the University of Toronto showing that advertisements and internet posts increased the consumption of a different types of products by 20% compared to last year which contributed to the growth of pollution. To tackle this issue the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the hidden dangers of exhausting the Planet's resources. By that I mean, people should know the possible outcomes and results such as earthquakes, pollution, environmental damage and harm to nature when certain natural elements of the earth are being overused. For example, by raising this sort of awareness campaign citizens of European countries reduced the usage of plastic, wood and paper in order to tackle the above-mentioned cause. To summarise, one of the impactful causes of this growth in consumption of natural resources is the promotion of a consumeristic mentality, which should be tackled by governments via educating people about the outcomes of the overusage overuse of those resources.