Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the government of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many less developed countries around the world, the essential public sections like healthcare, education and business are in urgent need to be improved to make sure these parts are functioning well. Some people think it is the duty of those rich nations to help the poorer countries in such areas. I tend not to agree with this notion. For many rich governments the priority of their jobs should be to guarantee the wellfare and benefits of its own citizens. Government collects tax from the hard-working citizens, so it should pay the money back to them, for example: improving the medical care, building more public transportation facilities, rising the pension or wellfare funds to help the aged and the disadvanged groups to enjoy a higher level of living standard, investing money in researching fields to boost the development of technology. Out of all of these, a government do have some degree of duty to take care of the others; however, this should be on the bottom of its agenda. In fact, the reasons why a country is less-developed can be many, but without sufficent donation from rich countries has never been one of the main accounts. In other words, the assistance from rich countries is not the one-for-all medicine to fully take a poorer country up. The effective treatment maybe lie in anti-corruption, improving the general literacy, or alter some deep-rooted mindsets of the citizens. For many countries around the world which are rich in natural resources, it is a puzzle why they never escape from poverty. However, if you look at their literacy rate and the governmental corruption rank, you will probably know the answer. In conclusion, I don't think it is the duty for the rich to help the poorer countries, as why they are poor is not because of lack of assistance from the rich. Further more, international institutes like UN and the World Bank are the ones that the poor countries can turn to.