Some people get into debt by buying thing they do not need and cannot afford. What is the reason for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

People who have not cultivated the culture of saving their money regularly tend to be heavy spenders. More often than not, they go on to spend the money they have not earned. Individuals, therefore, engage in the acts of borrowing money to purchase materials they do not need or would ordinarily be too expensive for them. The causes of this bad behaviour can be attributed to poor self-planning and covetousness. Some people do not have a financial plan to guide their periodic expenditures. This lack of foresight in turn leads them to reckless spending. For example, a man who earns $5000 monthly without a budget might end up buying things worth $6500. This automatically lands him in debt. Other individuals, who lack discipline, over time develop a character that leads them to desire materials owned by others who are probably earning way higher than they are. In this case, the person goes out of their way to get financial resources from their friends or banks to acquire stuff just for the sake of gratification. For example, a girl whose friend has an iPhone X model, may become jealous and wish to buy one for herself even though she does not have the finances. She will resort to debt in order to buy the device. To curb these bad attitudes, folks need to learn how to prioritize their needs and be able to differentiate them from mere wants. This will assist them to identify and purchase those things they require to live comfortably and shun unnecessary buying. Also, people need to have the spirit of contentment and self-satisfaction. Such a culture will deter them from acquiring devices for luxury, instead, they will be able to focus on their necessities. To conclude, individuals go into debt and reckless buying because they do not have priorities on one hand and because they desire stuff they do not need. To eliminate this bad tendency, they need to imbibe self-discipline.