Should the same laws which prohibit the sale & consumption of heroin be applied to tobacco? Discuss

The community opt to consume cigarette even knowing about the health hazards it poses and a few individuals are holding the notion that rulers must put a ban on the sale and consumption of this substance, in order to save society from the ill effects. In my opinion, it would be advantageous for the crowd. To begin with, the facet of disagreement is a matter of personal choice whether to have it or not. Therefore, governments should not waste their resources on making laws against the sale and purchase of crops. For example, in the USA such plants are not banned, it is left over the masses' wisdom to use it or not by weighing the pros and cons. Shifting towards the second school of thought, putting a halt to such plants would save precious souls. Undoubtedly, in diseases like oral cancers, lung ailments and so on in many cases the precursor agent is smoking. To illustrate, in India the total number of individuals who dies of cancer about 35 per cent of them suffered from mouth cancer caused by tobacco. Adding more to it, it would aid consumers financially. To exemplify, all around the globe people every year smoke cigarettes worth about 2 trillion dollars. Hence, it would go without saying that by making laws on consumption the population can save money too. To sum up, it is an undeniable fact that people have the freedom to choose whether to have tobacco or not, however, there are myriad benefits of putting a ban on the production and consumption of sniff,it would save lives and funds for commoners.