One problem big cities have is traffic congestion. What are the causes? What are the possible solutions?

All over the world, big cities face a myriad of issues. One such problem is the plague of jampacked roads. Some precipitating factors as well as control measures will be discussed. To begin, narrow motorways are one of the glaring reasons for this phenomenon. As the population in urban areas expand with increased rural-urban migration, there is not usually a commensurate improvement in the size of the roads. A straightforward fix can be the widening of the municipal highways in such towns. For example, Dubai city suffered road congestion after the urban population expansion of 1994, this was addressed by constructing wider roadways. Furthermore, road congestion can be brought on by a spike in the rate of car ownership. When towns prosper economically, the inhabitants usually tend to purchase cars as a statement of improved status. This problem can be solved by imposing restrictions during peak travel periods to limit the number of automobiles on the driveways at that time. For example, driving tolls were introduced in Nnewi town last quarter which drastically reduced the number of cars in the city centre between 1pm and 3pm. To conclude, high road congestion is brought on by the presence of small routes in growing urban areas as well as an increase in the number of persons that own automobiles in prosperous areas. To curb the menace, larger pavements need to be built and regulations like peak period tolls can be imposed. Implementing these propositions can go a long way in making driveways free for users.