Some people believe that tourists should never stay in hotels or resorts because living in such places does not allow them to get access to local cultures and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The trend of travelling has been increasingly popular these years, and whether travellers should accommodate in hotels and resorts has drawn the public’s attention. Although some voices believe that travellers can be isolated from local cultures if they choose to stay in commercial accommodations, I personally do not agree with this idea because tourists feel more secure in hotels, and they have other methods to know the cities. First and foremost, it is undeniable that the hotels and resorts may limit tourists’ visions to the local culture. Most travel accommodations have similar standards and styles of decoration and therefore, travellers can hardly access a unique view of local citizens’ lives. In contrast, vacation rental companies such as Airbnb can provide various living experiences offered by local residents. However, these private businesses are also hard to be legislatively regulated. Short-term rentals in local areas may not maintain the same qualities as hotels do, and this inconsistency may bring a sense of insecurity to foreign travellers. Furthermore, living with local residents is not the only way for travellers to access local cultures. In fact, other approaches such as participating in local events and activities also bring unique experiences to people. Compared with living with local households, these activities are well-planned and prepared so that people can have a more comprehensive understanding of one culture and its people. Similarly, local museums and art galleries are also good public areas providing artworks that can demonstrate documented histories. Last but not the least, if one wants to know local cuisines or food cultures, local public markets such as grocery stores or supermarkets are also good options that provide an overview. To sum up, although some foreign travellers choose to live in commercial hotels, it does not mean that they cannot experience local cultures at all. Other public locations such as special events, museums or local markets can also show what the local lives look like.