Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion, and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodations to restrict today’s tourism industry?

We can not deny that Tourism contributes most to the national GDP within a decade. However, if it is left unregulated, this sector could link to several environmental issues, including but not limited to air pollution, traffic congestion, and water pollution. In my view, the authority should not try to enforce the flights or accommodation industry but the tourists themselves with additional taxes to protect the regional environment. Without a doubt, the Tourism sector boosts the economy by enabling local citizens to promote their products to be sold and attractions to be visited by the visitor. In other words, when more people come to one big city, they tend to try new activities and buy local products. Thus, this event will link to a growth in local income. Even though we have seen the impact on the local tourism industry, the negative causes on the environment remain an issue. If the growth of tourism is not supported by the rule made by the local government, it will destroy the local surroundings. People from abroad, most of the time, did not really care about the places. As an example, many visitors rarely use local public transportation. This way, the volume of the vehicle on the road will rise and traffic congestion is inevitable. Not to mention, of course, the air and water pollution, among other negative effects, that are caused by the massive tourist transportation activities, both by air and sea, could also be controlled by imposing a travel tax. In other words, the visitor should be responsible for any damages that happen in that city caused by tourism activities. Consequently, they will manage their behavior to be more responsible for the environment and not do any inappropriate activities. On top of that, from the authority side, they could utilize the fiscal income from this sector to revitalize the local infrastructure. To conclude, tourism plays an important role to support the local economy. I personally believe that if the authorities have implemented rules to protect the environment from negative impacts from tourism, this sector will be much more contributed to the development of the regional economy.