International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Do the problems of international travel outweigh its advantages?

It is true that the business of international travel is a multi-million-pound industry nowadays. While this can cause some bad effects, I believe that the overall outcome is more positive. On the one hand, the rapid booming of tourism industry has led to several negative consequences in terms of natural environment, traditional culture and the cost of living. The expansion of facilities and infrastructure may destroy the wildlife habitat, and this is detrimental for environment. For example, the constructions of seaside hotels could spoil the splendid scenery of a sunset beach and occupy the sandy habitat used to be a place where turtles live. Cultural conflicts may also occur as the tourists from different countries flooding in, and traditional culture may suffer from this. Since the sightseers spend a huge amount of money on local products, services and even housing, the cost of living could rise and affect the quality of life of residents. On the other hand, I would argue that benefits from travel far outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, tourism can help to significantly increase employment possibilities for local people. For instance, due to the increasing need for more tourism facilities, many job opportunities are created, especially in the infrastructure industry and other sectors related to tourism, including accommodation, food, and car rentals. Secondly, the communication between travelers from various cultural backgrounds and local residents encourages the cultural diversity and makes it more attractive for visitors. Finally, the economies of many developing countries rely heavily on sightseers, who economically contribute to the host country by the money they spend on souvenirs, food, hotels and transportation. This can be seen as a great source of income for locals, and governments can also have revenue to invest in protection projects of natural environment and traditional culture. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of international tourism are more significant than the disadvantages.