Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and intrests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this infomation may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The present work deals with the effect of heat treatments including direct aging (DA), solutionzing (ST) and solutionizing + aging (T6) on mechanical and microstructural evolution of selective laser-melted AlSi10Mg alloy at room and elevated temperature simultaneously. The DA heat treatment badly damaged the plasticity and UTS of AlSi10Mg at room temperature because of the formation of nano Si precipitates despite the improvement of YS. Also, After ST and T6 heat treatment, various porosities were observed which was due to dissolving cellular structure which acted as efficient barriers for the coalescence and movement of small pores which primarily exist because of trapped gasses flaw defect during selective laser melting process. In respect of high temperature mechanical properties at maximum servicing temperature of AlSi10Mg alloy (~200°C), the as built and directly aged specimens have better performance than the solution treated and T6-aged ones. This was attributed to the presence of cellular structure acting as inhibitor of the trapped gasses. Consequently, the weaker mechanical properties of ST and T6 specimens at room and elevated temperature were mainly due to this flaw, and T6 heat treatment had even more detrimental effect on as-built specimen because of the 6-hour aging which allows easier coalescence and migration of small pores. During the homogenizing process in ST and T6 heat treatment, due to Ostwald ripening, the small precipitates from the inner part of the melt pool are likely to agglomerate in the area which these primary coarse Si precipitates existed. Moreover, the investigation of fracture surface of these specimens showed that DA was the most brittle specimen and ST was the softest, and both ST and T6 had various voids and mostly fine dimples. Also, all specimens tended to crack from the HAZ zone due to the weakness in this area which result in strain localization. It was observed that after the deformation, both ST and T6 specimens tended to crack from the HAZ where mostly fragmented and non-fragmented precipitates existed.