It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is true that the number of students who enrol in science subjects is inadequate in many nations nowadays. The difficulty and the highly theoretical characteristic may be two common reasons for the trend. In my opinion, society will be influenced negatively by this tendency. To begin with, there are two primary reasons why insufficient students are learning science subjects. One reason is the difficult knowledge they have to gain. To be more specific, science subjects consist of not only many complicated formulas but also various problem-solving methods for each exercise. Therefore, those subjects not only require good memory skills but also the flexibility to apply the method in solving problems, which can not be adopted by a majority of students. Furthermore, some science knowledge taught in many schools these days appears too theoretical and hard to be applied in real life. Take mathematics, for example, most students have to study derivatives or integral, which is not very necessary for most of their future careers. As a result, science subjects appear less attractive to students compared to marketing or accounting. A shortage of learners in science fields can result in some negative effects. The first impact is that when fewer students decide to learn science subjects, there would be a serious shortage of employees working in those fields. This might lead to fewer scientific advancements, which could also prevent social developments in order to improve life quality. For instance, it would become harder to develop the vaccination for new diseases due to the limitation of the workforce. Furthermore, since the number of science students is insignificant, other major subjects like business or economics become much more prevalent. In fact, the job vacancies in these areas are limited. As a result, society may have to face a rise in the unemployment rate. In conclusion, too theoretical knowledge and the difficulty of science subjects may be two main reasons preventing students from studying. The consequences of the tendency range from the scarcity of human resources in scientific fields to the abundance of the workforce in other major working sectors like business or economics. It is predicted that the government would replace abstract knowledge by lessons carried out in the laboratory to attract more students.