Computers and modems have made it possible for office workers to do much of their work from home instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraged as it is good for workers and employers. Do you agree or disagree?

During the pandemic, many corporate employees realized that it is not necessary to be physically present in an office to be able to execute their job. Working from home is booming nowadays and in my opinion, as long as the tasks of a particular job allow it, there is no reason an employer should force its employee to be at the office five days a week. Firstly, the advantages for the worker are numerous. Working from the comfort of your own home means that there is no longer a need to spend time commuting. Given the often-occurring traffic jams or the busyness and unreliability of public transport, a highly stressful part of one's workday can be avoided by staying home. In addition, working at the office, especially ones with an open-landscape setup, also means that colleagues can disturb you at any part of the day. For instance, on days when an employee knows that a lot of focus time is required, it is very advantageous to stay home and finish the task without any distractions. Moreover, from the employer's point of view, it is beneficial to allow staff to set up a home office. On the one hand, it can be cost-saving: it might no longer be necessary to heat up the entire office. On top of that, bigger investments can also be delayed. For example, it can postpone the need to extend offices, hence delaying big investments since it will be rare to have all personnel at the office on the same day. On the other hand, employees nowadays expect this work-from- home flexibility from their bosses. Banning this would decrease satisfaction and give reasons for employees to leave the company in search of employment with better conditions. In conclusion, I fully agree that working from home should be promoted. It is a win-win situation for both the employer and the employee. It decreases stress for the worker, allows cost-saving for management and creates a low turnaround for the company.